WWT Shows CLICK TO: Join and Support Internet Horology Club 185™ IHC185™ Forums

• Check Out Our... •
• TWO Book Offer! •
Welcome Aboard IHC185™     Internet Horology Club 185    IHC185™ Discussion Site Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Open to the World RESEARCH FORUMS  Hop To Forums  Illinois Watch Company Research Forum    Need help with understanding what would be correct era cases for my 161A & 163A
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Need help with understanding what would be correct era cases for my 161A & 163A "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Life Member
posted
Hello all,

I’m relatively new to IHC185 and in an ideal world, I would have found out about this site before making some acquisitions. Smile

My interest in watches comes from my mechanical engineering background and interest in chronometry. After doing some basic research, I found American ingenuity in the production of high quality watches to be fascinating and got hooked!

Movements tend to interest me more, then say the dials and cases. Besides the Hamilton Model 22 Deck Watch, it is the Illinois Bunn Specials with 60 hour motor barrels and Elinvar that attracted me the most, so I went shopping and picked up two 161A and one 163A based pocket watches. The dials and hands are correct from everything that I’ve seen and read here on IHC185, but a couple of the cases are not correct.

At first this did not bother me too much, as I read that movements were often re-cased as needed and that “back in the day”, the original owners of these watches didn’t necessarily place as much of a value on the case as the collectors of today do. But the more I learn from everybody here (you people are dangerous Wink ), the more I want to try and make these watches “whole” again. I know that this can be quite challenging, but I like this hobby and it is quite addictive!

A summary of what I have:

Watch #1:
161A Type II B, movement # 5481543, made in 1931