• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Balance Pivot Polishing "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Hello all from a total Newbie, here's my question...how does one go about holding the lower portion of a balance staff in order to polish the upper pivot? On my Elgin movements the lower portion is conical and a wire chuck won't hold it. A balloon chuck perhaps?

Thanks, Mike

Posts: 19 | Location: Southern California in the USA | Registered: September 23, 2015
Picture of Peter Kaszubski
posted
collet in lathe

Posts: 4395 | Location: Arizona in the USA | Registered: July 23, 2011
IHC Life Member
Picture of Patrick Wallin
posted
Collet in lathe.

Posts: 1732 | Location: Enumclaw, Washington in the USA | Registered: October 02, 2011
posted
Thanks for the replies guys, maybe I should have said that the lower portion (roller table side) of the staff is "tapered". My lathe collets won't hold tapered shafts.

Posts: 19 | Location: Southern California in the USA | Registered: September 23, 2015
Picture of Peter Kaszubski
posted
there is so many surfaces to chuck it on the staff

Posts: 4395 | Location: Arizona in the USA | Registered: July 23, 2011
posted
Hi Peter you're definitely right but, used to hold a tapered shaft, the collet will only grip with it's outer edge(its "mouth")whichever surface you tighten it on. This leaves the rest of the shaft, inside the collet, to wobble about....something we don't want. So what's the solution, a balance chuck?

IHC Life Member
Picture of David Abbe
posted