Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Restaffing - Should I try this myself? "Click" to Login or Register 
Life Member
posted
I have an American Waltham "Jewel" series 6/0 wristwatch with a broken upper balance pivot. The hole and cap jewels both in the plate and in the cock appear to be in good condition. I have about twenty five years experience in clock repair, but am fairly new to the watch repair game. (It is a whole new learning experience! Smile )
I have a Peerless 8mm lathe, and I believe I can come up with the proper size collet (or use a shellac collet) to chuck up the staff, but is this too small to be learning on? Would I be better advised to send it out? I do not own a set of poising jaws, and wonder if that is likely to be a problem, even if I am able to successfully swap out the staff?

Sorry for the long post with all the questions, but I really do suspect that I may be getting in "over my head".

Posts: 213 | Location: Westminster, Maryland in the USA | Registered: March 02, 2015
posted
Hi,
Are you talking about making a new staff?
If you are looking for a replacement staff 6/0 size P/N 26106, I have some I can sell you.
mrmel.mrmel@gmail.com
Mel

Posts: 507 | Location: West Newton, Massachusetts USA | Registered: September 10, 2006
Life Member
posted
I meant a replacement staff. But my concern is that I might mess up the balance arms trying to cut the old one off, and whether after replacing the wheel on the new staff, does it have to be poised?

Posts: 213 | Location: Westminster, Maryland in the USA | Registered: March 02, 2015
IHC Life Member
posted
David,