Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Ball Waltham Diagram Needed "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC Life Member
Site Moderator

Picture of Tom Brown
posted
I was wondering if someone could point me in the direction to find either a diagram or photographs showing the winding & lever setting parts locations on a 19 Jewel ORRS Ball Waltham, I have one that I acquired totally apart & some of the parts I can not figure out how or where they attach. Are any other Waltham models similiar in parts, I have never worked on a Ball before.

Thanks for any help you can give me, I have tried searching the web & looked in what books I have but I can't locate anything.

Tom

Posts: 5107 | Location: New Mexico in the USA | Registered: January 27, 2007
IHC Life Member
Site Moderator

Picture of Tom Brown
posted
I forgot I also wanted to ask if someone could tell me what balance staff this model took & where I might locate one?
Thanks again
Tom

IHC President
Life Member
Picture of Lindell V. Riddle
posted

Hi Tom,

On the staff, you might try Brian Cavanaugh at pwpartsetc@pwatch.com or Tom Mister's "Dashto" for that and other parts.

About a diagram, I am not aware of one but we can probably provide images. As I understand it the Ball-Walthams began as a close relation to the 1899 Waltham and eventually the 1908 model.

On the merge below, the upper section shows the movement assembled and in the winding position, the lower image is the setting position. If you need any further images we will supply them.

By the way, in case you need it, we have the difficult to find setting lever for these watches available. Our new ones were engineered by Chris Abell and they are die struck from Stainless Steel. Design improvement and much higher quality than the originals as Dave Abbe explains in this topic: A "Tail" of two Riddle's or is it Riddell? They are available to IHC185 Members at $54.95 plus shipping, eMail us at ihc185@roadrunner.com for more infirmation.