• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Dueber Grade 21j watch "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Hi all, I have just purchased this watch, and not being to familiar with Hampdens, what can you tell me about it ?
I had read a post somewhere, where it was not accepted on some lines, and do not understand why that would be. Any info on this watch, quality, numbers, etc. would be appreciated.
The ser # is3031390, 21 jewel, adj 5 pos.
Thanks,
Bill

Posts: 1278 | Location: British Columbia in Canada | Registered: May 19, 2008
posted

IHC Member 1610
Picture of Harry J. Hyaduck Sr.
posted
Hi Bill very nice watch. Hampden's have always been underappreciated. I probably have at least a dozen 21 and 23 jewel Hampden's. What I like about them is they are all different demaskeen patterns.

They should be all RRG but it is up to each individual RR to approve which watches that can be used on there RR. I have no knowledge why a RR would approve one RRG watch and not another. It may be something as simple as keeping parts on hand or keeping the watchmaker standardized so he does not have to work on so many different brands. Much like Southwest Airlines does today by only having one type of airplane. They only have to be proficient in the one airplane and therefore all the maintenance and repairs are the same.

This of course is only speculation on my part and I am sure there are other reasons that are much more probable that some of our more knowledgeable collectors are aware of.

Harry

Posts: 3850 | Location: Georgia in the USA | Registered: September 22, 2011
IHC Member 1110
posted