Tools
Reply to Post

MOORHOUSE AND WEBB C. BALL, HELLO! "Click" to Login or Register 
IHC President
Life Member
Picture of Lindell V. Riddle
posted
MOORHOUSE AND WEBB C. BALL, HELLO!

Here's a really interesting E. Howard Series VIII that has surfaced in California. It is in the hands of our own Cheryl Ohland who is "lablover49" on eBay. Her interest at this point is in finding out everything she can about the watch, especially the dial. Although I am no expert on these dials, I believe I am seeing definite Moorhouse characteristics here.

Going a bit further I can tell you this dial would have been originally sold on a watch retailed by Webb C. Ball Jewelers which was at that time located on Superior Road in Cleveland, Ohio making it essentially a "Private Label" dial. Do not confuse the retail jewelry store with the Ball Watch Company as that was a separate entity. But be that as it may, whenever a dial like this surfaces the combination of Moorhouse and Webb C. Ball, Cleveland, O. sets my pulse pounding.

The case is engine-turned with a plain cartouche and marked "E. H. & Co." Case# 37223 and of course 14K as expected on high-end Howard Cases. Owner's inscription on the cuvette is Lyndon V. Grover - 1897 - Lynn, Mass. Is this a beauty or what?

Series VIII Howard, Moorhouse for Webb C. Ball, Cleveland, O...

Posts: 10553 | Location: Northeastern Ohio in the USA | Registered: November 19, 2002
IHC President
Life Member
posted
Deer Marking "Adjusted" and "N" with Serial Number 305196...

Posts: 10553 | Location: Northeastern Ohio in the USA | Registered: November 19, 2002
posted
Lindell,

I agree with you about this being a dial with the typical characteristics of Moorhouse dial.

In the section of "Pocket Watch Discussions" locate the topic: MOORHOUSE DIALS .....School Is In Session.

I'll bet Harold Visser will jump in here soon with his very expert knowledge.

Indeed these are very desirable dials, especially if they are signed By J Moorhouse on the reverse.