• TWO Book Offer! •
Go
Find-Or-Search
Notify
Tools
Reply to Post

Elgin jewel size "Click" to Login or Register 
posted
Question for anyone. I'm a relative novice with 1/2 dozen pocket watches in pieces on my bench. One is a 16S 15J Elgin and all the train jewels were pretty badly smashed so I'm using them for practice. Got the 3rd wheel lower j pressed out and replaced w/ a hole j from a bag of random jewels. Rubbed over tight w/ a hand-made tool but it appears to sit a little high. I don't have a proper jewel press or any way measure the thickness of the other jewels because once I press them out they are in pieces. Can any one tell me how thick those train jewels should be? Thanks,

Tom

Posts: 4 | Location: Washington State in the USA | Registered: November 20, 2017
IHC Member 1541
Picture of Lorne Wasylishen
posted
Thomas, your question is way above my pay grade so I will just say welcome to the club.

Posts: 2093 | Location: British Columbia in Canada | Registered: March 02, 2011
IHC Life Member
posted
Thomas,

Jeweling is not novice work. Trying to do this without the proper tools and knowledge is going to be extremely frustrating. Now if you had the correct replacement jewel in setting to swap out, then not a problem, but it doesn't sound that way.

If watch repair is something you seriously want to get into, be prepared to invest in the tools and equipment necessary to be successful.

Not trying to discourage you, just pointing out reality.

Roger

Posts: 1078 | Location: Ticonderoga, New York USA | Registered: March 01, 2008
Administrative Assistant
Picture of Dr. Debbie Irvine
posted

Roger is correct!

Check out John D. Duvall's"HELPING HAND TUTORIALS" titled

Seitz Jeweling Manual

Posts: 5226 | Location: Northern Ohio in the U.S.A. | Registered: December 04, 2002
posted